Angulation of dogs

Discussion in 'Labrador Breeding & Genetics' started by JulieT, Mar 19, 2016.

1. JulieT

JulieT Registered Users

I've recently been reading about the best structure of dogs for performance (we started this discussion on the Crufts thread, but I've moved the topic because I really need to emphasize this isn't about showing - this is about performance).

The book I've been reading is this one:
    What's Your Angle: Understanding Angulation and Structure for the Performance Dog
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Whats-Your-...ngulation-Structure-Performance/dp/1480139394

I'm no expert! I've just read the book - and now go round sticking dots on dogs while I try to figure it all out and improve my 'eye' for the conformation that makes up a good performance dog. I am very, very happy to learn more from any experts out there...

First, what are we looking at?

We are looking at the angles of the dog's conformation at the front and rear. If you look at the picture below, we are trying to identify the main angles front and back. They should look like this:

[​IMG]dots #2 by julieandcharlie julieandcharlie, on Flickr

I've marked these up on Pongo - it's tricky to do in a photo, what you really need to do is feel for the ends of the bones on the dog and actually stick the dots on, then take a photo! :D:D:D Which is what the book tells you to do.

Here is my best attempt at the very handsome and lovely Pongo - as I mentioned earlier, I think Pongo could have a better turn on his stifle, I've tried to show this with the orange line. This means Pongo's angles at the back are a bit too straight - if the dot on the stifle were moved out, it would increase the main rear angle, to 90degrees or a bit more. I am very happy to be corrected on that though!

I can't tell where the top of Pongo's shoulder blade is - I've had to guess, it might be a bit further back from my blue dot, so I drew two lines.

[​IMG]pongo dots by julieandcharlie julieandcharlie, on Flickr