Frightened of Strangers

Discussion in 'Labrador Behavior' started by hebs, Oct 13, 2016.

1. hebs

hebs Registered Users

My female lab Ruby is 2 years old and is terrified of strangers. She barks, growls and shakes when strangers come into the house.
    She is fine with people she knows and makes a great fuss of them. She has a lovely nature otherwise but it is quite upsetting to see her get so worked up.
    She is also scared of the vet and drools, shakes and her heart races.
    Any tips would be appreciated

2. DebzC

DebzC Registered Users

Poor little thing. Did she have a bad experience anytime? I'm afraid I've no advice as I'm new to this but I hope you find an answer. X

3. snowbunny

snowbunny Registered Users

Hi and welcome to the forum. You need to start her off at a distance she feels comfortable with, so that will probably be strangers outside of your house. The idea is to reward her (treats or games) for looking at the trigger without responding - so you need to make sure the distance is great enough that she doesn't respond. The idea is, you're taking something that makes her feel mildly uncomfortable, and replacing those feelings with good ones. Over time (which may be several sessions), you can move closer, always keeping at a distance where she doesn't react (this may mean that sometimes you have to back up again - other things in the environment that you may not notice may make it more challenging, so don't expect it to be a linear progression). Always lots of good treats for remaining calm and not reacting.