Growling when touching/removing harness or collar

Discussion in 'Labrador Training' started by LeapingLeo, Dec 28, 2015.

1. LeapingLeo

LeapingLeo Registered Users

Leo is very attached to his harness & collar so much so that when we try to remove his harness after walks he growls. Same w/his collar. For instance, when I go to take it off to bathe him or maybe adjust it, he will growl at me. It's almost as though they're to him as a blankie or favorite stuffed animal is to a child. Anyone else ever had or have this problem?

2. edzbird

edzbird Registered Users

Our dogs get "upset" when their collars are removed, but not growly. Not bothered about their harnesses, which are put on/taken off every day. But I change collars every month or so, and they go funny then.

3. JulieT

JulieT Registered Users

I think this sounds a bit odd, to be honest. Although I've never heard it before, and possibly it's just a 'thing' I have no experience with.

But, my instinct would be to wonder what is causing your dog to growl when your hand approaches his collar or harness in the situation he is in (presumably the house)? Maybe there is a reason for this? Perhaps a family member that has been a little too rough in using a collar to move him or something like that?

4. Kpeters58

Kpeters58 Registered Users

Zeus doesn't like his collar off either. I assumed he is just used to it.

5. JulieT

JulieT Registered Users

Well, dunno. But to me, this seems a really strange thing for a dog to do - to object to the removal of a collar. Even if they are used to having it on, I cannot see any logical reason why they should object to it being removed. No, I do not think a collar becomes like a human 'comfort blanket'. I'd say these dogs are growling at the hand approaching their collar. For a reason you need to work out....

6. edzbird

edzbird Registered Users