Hello!

Discussion in 'Introductions & Saying Hello' started by Millieboo, Jun 7, 2016.

1. Millieboo

Millieboo Registered Users

Hello I'm totally new to being a dog owner, my name is Christina and our newest addition to the family is a black lab called Millie. She is now 13 weeks old and already sort of housebroken (she goes to the door and wait but the problem is she don't make any sound so if I miss that she heads to the door she pees on the floor). I'm very proud of her, had her now for soon 4 weeks (she now knows sit and lay down) and she is the best friend of my 2 1/2 year old daughter.
    I got no problems to get Millie out for a walk with a leash and a stroller as long as my daughter is with us, the problem I got is in the evening I usually walk alone and Millie refuses to leave our property (I end up carrying her out to the road and then it's a bit whimpering but it quickly goes into a fun walk session).
    I found my way to this forum when I was googling about Labrador forums, hopefully to be able to get guidance and some insight, I am so scared of being the reason to mess up my dog (I seen enough people that shouldn't be near any animals).

2. pippa@labforumHQ

pippa@labforumHQ Administrator

Hi Christina and welcome to the forum. You don't need to worry about walks for Millie yet, in the sense of exercise. She doesn't need much. Just focus on making all her new experiences fun. If she is worried when you put her on the ground near the road, instead of taking her for a walk, just spend time there cuddling her, and feeding her so she gets used to the new experiences, cars going by etc.

3. Millieboo