my 4 month old pup won't poo other than @ home

Discussion in 'Labrador Behavior' started by Leo tovar, Dec 24, 2016.

1. Leo tovar

Leo tovar Registered Users

Hello everyone, and bless this website :)
    I am a Newbie so I'm in need of help in figuring out my 4 month old yellow lab with his potty issue.
    He's doing good with going poo &pee outdoors ,once in a while will get an accident in the house so a doggy door is needed to avoid this accidents.
    Anywho when we go for a day at the park or a walk I try and motivate him into going pee or poo but he will not,he holds it till we get home . I'm scared he might get a urinary tract infection if this keeps happening . Please help thanks

2. Naya

Naya Registered Users

Hi and welcome to the forum.
    When my girl was a pup it took until she was 12 weeks before she wee'd out on a walk - I praised her massively to show that's what I wanted her to do. I highly rewarded every time she went. It took until she was about 4/5 months before she would have a poo other than at home. We never went out for longer than 45mins (mostly off lead)as I restricted her running due to protecting her joints so it wasn't as though she had to hold it in for too long.

3. Jenny B

Jenny B Registered Users

Id actually leave him be. Our dogs have always 'held it' - the first we got as a 2yo and she always held on til we got home until she was at least middle age. The current oldest dog is 6yo and he will usually hang on - bit did when younger (also got him around 2) aside from marking stuff he thinks he needs to mark. The puppy who is now just over 6 months old aside from leaking now and again through excitement has gone once when she squatted a week ago on the way back from a walk and thats been it.