Owner of first ever dog....a black lab puppy!

Discussion in 'Introductions & Saying Hello' started by Clara6667, Oct 18, 2016.

1. Clara6667

Clara6667 Registered Users

Hi...myself, my husband and our 8 children( well 6 as 2 have flown the nest) are the proud owners of a beautiful black lab puppy! We've had him 3 weeks and he's now 11 weeks.
    We spent many, many weeks researching breeds and what having a puppy involves.
    Buddy is the cutest dog ever and has settled in very well. He's almost fully house trained...we decided against using paper or puppy pads and literally took him outside to the garden every half an hour for the first week and got up twice a night to let him pee. Three weeks in and he's doing so well...he's go to bed in his crate at 11pm and hubby let's him out at 5am when he's goes to work. We've had no accidents for 5 days now!
    He can sit, shake his paw and fetch balls back. We are complete newbies and are finding all the different training advice confusing....any simple suggestions or pointers as where to look with regards to what we should be doing and when?
    Clara x

Granca, Jes72, Joy and 2 others like this.
  2. drjs@5

drjs@5 Registered Users

Hi Clara.
    A warm welcome to you and your family to the forum.
    Sounds like you are doing pretty good
    x

Clara6667 likes this.
  3. Karen

Karen Registered Users

Hello and welcome! Buddy sounds lovely, and you sound very much on top of things! With regard to what to do, I would be running around in the garden with him, encouraging him to follow you, and giving him lots of lovely treats whenever he comes to you. Take him out lots to see all sorts of different things, carrying him if he cannot be on the ground yet due to his vaccination schedule.

4. Clara6667

Lol I only have to walk out the room and he's following me :)
    I've gone through a few packs of puppy treats...could I swap them with something healthier?

5. Diane Dake

Diane Dake Registered Users