Support when its needed most

Discussion in 'The Rainbow Bridge' started by kateincornwall, Aug 23, 2013.

1. kateincornwall

kateincornwall Registered Users

It is a sad fact of life that our dear dogs live a shorter life than we do and so we will all face a loss at some time in our lives .
    In an ideal world , our dogs would go for a nap in the garden and slip away in their sleep , but this rarely happens and for most of us , that awful decision has to be made , for the sake of our dogs , the hardest but kindest decision to end sufferring .
    Many people cope with support from friends and family, but others struggle on alone or simply cant talk to those nearest to them, for fear of upsetting them or fear of breaking down . Others just have no one to talk to at a time when emotions need to be expressed in order to cope with grief .
    I work as a volunteer for the Blue Cross on their Pet Bereavement Support Service helpline , a vital service, helping thousands of people every year, just being there to listen is such a help to so many people . We cant take the hurt away, but we can offer support and comfort, no one needs to struggle alone .
    The service is free ( from a UK land line ) and available seven days per week , every day of the year from 8.30 a.m. until 8.30 p.m. on 0800 096 6606 .
    An e mail service is also available if this is the preferred method of contact on pbssmail@bluecross.org.uk

All volunteers have been fully trained in order to help and all have suffered the loss of a pet , help is there should you , or someone you know need it .

2. Lisa

Lisa Registered Users

Re: Support when its needed most

This is a great service, thanks for the info, Kate!

3. Dexter

Dexter Moderator Forum Supporter

Great idea to share thins Kate,
    Thankyou x

4. Karen

Karen Registered Users

That sounds like a super service Kate. Thank you!

5. David

David Registered Users

Thanks, Kate. We've all got that ahead of us - some sooner than others.