Very scared lab

Discussion in 'Labrador Breeding & Genetics' started by Morgie1983, Nov 26, 2014.

1. Morgie1983

Morgie1983 Registered Users

So harry is 15 Months old and when we put our oven on he gets so scared bless him, he shakes so much and his tail is tucked!! I comfort him the best I can but I feel so useless when he is like this!! We let him out in the garden when dinner is being cooked but even then he cowls down at the end of the garden!!
    Really don't know what to do!!

2. bbrown

bbrown Moderator Forum Supporter

Re: Very scared lab

I'm no expert but you might want to look up the BAT threads on the forum. I'm on my phone so can post links later if someone doesn't beat me to it. I think it stands for behaviour adjustment therapy. Also you may want to try and find a qualified behaviourist to help you, your vet may be able to recommend a local one.

Wishing you and you poor boy lots of luck :)

3. Stacia

Stacia Registered Users

Don't comfort him as that re-inforces his fears. Act totally unconcerned. You could start feeding him from a long distance away from the oven (put it on), the far side of the living room where he doesn't react to the oven and very, very gradually bring it closer over weeks. Totally ignore him when he is eating.

4. snowbunny

snowbunny Registered Users

[quote author=Stacia link=topic=8909.msg126710#msg126710 date=1416995165]
    Don't comfort him as that re-inforces his fears.
    [/quote]

I thought that had been disproven and that comforting was a good thing?

5. Stacia

Stacia Registered Users