2 days down, a million questions up!

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Sally C, Jan 26, 2015.

1. Sally C

Sally C Registered Users

Hi everyone... AGAIN!

* !!!LONG MESSAGE ALERT!!!!*

I have few questions and am hoping you can help me out... Seren is my first puppy so I'm totally new at this game and have done as much reading/researching as poss but of course there's nothing like the real life pup to stump you!

Generally I think it's going pretty well? We've had no toilet accidents which is amazing, and he wees and/or poos everytime I pop him in his outdoors pen. First night I got up once to let him out, no whining. Last night I got up twice, and the second time after he was put back in his crate he whined like buggery for about 5 minutes then crashed out. He's sleeping next to my bed for the first 3 nights, so that was pretty tough hearing him go nuts like that, but so glad I resisted the urge to comfort him (or make him be quiet so I could sleep!!). Luckily he's never whined before needing a wee at night.

However, I have a few queries...

1 - when I pop him outside, I stay with him always. Sometimes I take him back inside straight after wee, other times I let him play/run around/chase me. His new favourite game however is... chewing the pen! Or chasing/eating leaves! Or digging and eating grass! I'm thinking I should get another pen like the Ellie Bo one I use inside as he doesn't chew that (much), but that would be much smaller than the one we knocked up out of stakes and plastic fencing. I am trying to divert his energy into toys or playing with me, but sometimes it just doesn't work and he just REALLY wants to stuff his mouth with grass or chew on the plastic gates... Any ideas how to overcome this?