Dog's toes tense/curling upward? Need help :(

Discussion in 'Labrador Health' started by Boomers People, Jan 14, 2021.

1. Boomers People

Boomers People Registered Users

Hi there, this is my first time posting here. I have a 4 year old chocolate lab, Boomer. Today he has me worried because he's behaving pretty odd, and he's done this before but it went away and we didn't think much of it. In hindsight, the last week or so he's been salivating, licking and gulping more than usual, and occasionally shaking his head but his ears look fine. He has mild allergies so I was chalking it up to that. But then as I went to plug in my phone charger, he sat square infront of me, and then just lunged up on me with his paws on my shoulders and wouldn't let go. He never ever does this. He is the definition of sweet, and any other day he would just patiently wait for me to give him a pat, but not jump up, especially like that.
    So i knew something was off, and walked him to the other room to get a better look, and he kept sitting down very quickly and chewing his back paw, couldn't get comfy, toes curling up very rigid like a cramp. I laid him down and tried to massage the leg and the toes. When I curl the toes back down I can feel and hear a crack like something moving in the hock, and when I let go the toes go straight back to splayed out and curling upward. Then he goes to chew the toes and lick the paw, and the foot kicks him pretty hard in the mouth like he can't control it, to the point im worried he's going to hurt himself. It took a while to get him to relax and the leg was trembling. He keeps looking at it and licking his other paws too. He did this maybe 2 months ago or so and had me worried but it cleared within a day. Even now laying in bed I hear him in his bed licking his lips, swallowing, and licking his front legs.
    I've checked in between his toes on all paws and they all look normal.