Early Waking!!!

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by ZoeGS, Jun 3, 2017.

1. ZoeGS

ZoeGS Registered Users

Hello all,

I'm new to this page so please bear with me. Plus I'm really tired!
    So Nala is 13 weeks old in week 11 she was sleeping through from 10.30pm til 6.30am she did this for about 5 nights since we have moved her onto 3 feeds a day from 4, she still goes down at 10.30-10.45pm after going out for wee and poo. Then at between 4.30 and 5am she will wake for a wee, then when we put her back in her crate she will howl and bark until we come down again and then she has a poo. After that there is no chance of her going back to sleep. She cries, barks tries to get out of her crate. We have tried ignoring her but after an half an hour and hour its pointless.Then after shes seen us she takes herself back to her crate until breakfast at 7am.

She is great at being left on her own in the daytime. This lack of sleep is really taking its toll.
    Any ideas welcome.
    Thanks
    A very tired labrador lover
    Zoe

2. snowbunny

snowbunny Registered Users

I'd be tempted to take her to your bed after her poo. :D

Dexter likes this.
  3. ZoeGS

ZoeGS Registered Users

Hmmmm sadly we don't want to encourage her upstairs. Though we do love a sofa cuddle. I don't want to establish behavior that will mean when she howls and barks shes rewarding with things like that.

4. snowbunny

Definitely not, but I meant before she howled. So, she'd have her poo and then you'd take her straight up to bed for morning cuddles. But, if you don't want her in the bedroom, I'd either give her a frozen kong after her poo to keep her occupied for a bit, or I'd snooze on the sofa next to her until she's settled, then go back to bed. You're right that you don't want to be rewarding the noise, but don't worry about these other things becoming habit - she'll grow out of needing to get up in the night, so they will no longer be an issue.

ZoeGS likes this.
  5. JenBainbridge