Fixing puppy mistakes...

Discussion in 'Labrador Training' started by C Dawg, Jun 24, 2018.

1. C Dawg

C Dawg Registered Users

Hi All,
    I’m a first time lab mom and have had my girl for 2.5 weeks. She is almost 12 weeks. I’ll admit I wasn’t 100% prepared when I picked her up. I was originally going to get a pup at the end of this month so I and more time to prepare, but plans changed. Its been 20 years since I had a puppy and have forgotten everything. So as my girl takes her naps, I’ve been reading and reading and reading, and realizing I’m a terrible trainer and that I should have done things way differently, such as....

1. Crating....been moving super slow on that. She has turned into a velcro puppy (probably because of something i did wrong) so I’ve been under house arrest with her, trying not to make her hate her crate.

2. Sleeping arrangement....had her sleep in a bin next to my bed the 1st 2 nights. Not fun...as expected. I live in an apartment, but the 1st two nights I had her we were at my parents house (because the breeder lived near them, and they 4 hours away from my place) so it was ok if she barked and whimpered. When I got back to my apartment complex, I tried crating her, and I even tried sleepong on the floor next to her. Sound travels well in the building so I’m really worried about that. I eventually caved in and moved onto the couch and let her sleep with me. We continued to sleep on the couch for the next week, and then I caved in and moved us to my bed.

Now I love sleeping with her and would be fine with the arrangement forever, but I haven’t been thinking clearly because of the craziness, and forgot that she’s going to get pretty big. I’m single now and have the room, but I’m hoping that will eventually change. So now I’m thinking maybe I need to break this habit now. Is it too late?? Or should I just plan on buying a king sized bed and hope my spouse doesn’t mind an 80 lb. dog sleeping with us...