Frustration induced aggression...?

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Bonnie, Mar 29, 2015.

1. Bonnie

Bonnie Registered Users

Hello :)

I posted about this issue when Bonnie was about 3 months old as I was concerned about some of her behaviours. The situation seems to have become worse over the last two weeks and I wonder if it is time to consult a profession? She is now 24 weeks old.

I should say that two weeks ago she was spayed. I don't know if that is relevant medically or whether the fact she had to be on a leash for 10 days has had an impact. But since being spayed not only has the aggressive behaviour become worse, her recall and general obedience appear to have gone out to window. I'm able to go back to scratch with the recall and obedience (reading lots about that and we start a new class after Easter) but the aggression is a real concern.

I'm no expert but I'd say her behaviour is consistent with what some dog behaviourists term "frustration induced aggression". If Bonnie is frustrated from doing something she wants to do, or is restrained in any way, she becomes vocally aggressive (growling, barking) or physically aggressive (muzzle punching, snipping and actual biting). So far, it's only me that she's bitten hard enough to break skin with, but she has jumped up or lunged for my brother and my nephew's face whilst simultaneously snapping with her teeth. I also get warning signs like the sneezing and lip curling. When she's in a heightened state of frustration her pupils dilate. We used to jokingly call them her "wild eyes" but that's starting to not seem funny any more. :-\