Hello from Canberra Australia

Discussion in 'Introductions & Saying Hello' started by pat foley, Feb 29, 2016.

1. pat foley

pat foley Registered Users

HI everyone , I am very excited to say that my wife and i will be welcoming a chocolate lab puppy into our home in 3 weeks time. Her name is Gypsy Rose. She wont actually be our pet as we have volunteered to raise her as a companion dog for all the people at my wifes workplace, Samantha works at a nursing home and their last companion dog Nara passed away in october last year and everyone there has been feeling her loss ever since. So if anyone has any tips on training a dog for this very special position please dont hesitate in passing them on. Thanks in advance...

Newbie Lab Owner likes this.
  2. pat foley

this is gypsy , not me

3. MaccieD

MaccieD Guest

Hi and welcome to you and Gypsy from me and Juno, my 20 month old chocolate girl. I have no experience of training a dog who will be a companion dog in a nursing home. Can you tell us what Gypsy will be expected to do in the home on a daily basis as I'm sure members will then be able to offer lots of advice as we have a puppy walker for the Guide dogs for the Blind and a PAT dog (Pets as Therapy) team.

4. Snowshoe

Snowshoe Registered Users

Welcome to the board. How old will Gypsy be when she is allowed to live at the nursing home? Is she being selected by a group who does therapy dog work? I'm just thinking of my puppy, who is now a good dog at the nursing home and we visited my Aunt yesterday. But when he was little he was, in his Grandma's words, a Holy Terror. It can be a shock going from an older well behaved dog to a puppy.

I love the idea though. My Aunt's home used to have two cats but now only birds. Both my Mum's and my Aunt's home have regular therapy animal visits and encourage family to bring well behaved pets on visits. Amazingly Oban now fits into the well behaved category, will wonders never cease. ;)

5. Dexter