Help. Should I buy a trained dog or a puppy - working GSD

Discussion in 'Working Trials' started by suejoh, Jun 2, 2015.

1. suejoh

suejoh Registered Users

As a novice trainer do you think it would be helpful for me to get a dog that has been part trained by an experienced trainer rather than buy a pup. There is a 6 month old bitch for sale that has done all the basics - and does them very well. However it is nice to have a puppy and I have always done basic training with my dogs from puppyhood. Nowhere near as good as this one though!
    I am looking for a working GSD pup to do working trials with. I find it all very confusing as I have always had show line dogs before.
    I have not been to see her yet and obviously that will be decisive but she is quite expensive and I dont want to fall in love and get her when it would actually be better to get a puppy.

Any thoughts would be great.

2. snowbunny

snowbunny Administrator Forum Supporter

Hmmm, I'm a novice trainer, too, and I'm not sure it makes any difference whether you get a 6-month old or a new puppy, to be honest. The weak point in the dog/handler combination is going to be the handler when you're inexperienced, whether you get a puppy that's got some basic training or not.

OK, with a young puppy, you're going to have to start from scratch, but with a 6-month old, you're approaching adolescence very quickly and will have to cover the basics again. It's usually easier the second time around, but if the pup has been trained by someone else, you won't have the confidence in yourself from having done it all before with a young puppy, and if your techniques differ from the other trainer's at all, which they undoubtedly will, then you may end up confusing the dog.