im new! advice re food, leads, collars etc!

Discussion in 'Labrador Chat' started by blackjack, Jul 8, 2013.

1. blackjack

blackjack Registered Users

hi everyone, im new to the page so forgive me if i do anything wrong! We just got our 8 month black lab yesterday and he didnt come with much. Im feeding him spillers trial and field as per his previous owner but would like to hear of decent but cheaper alternatives. He also only has a training lead no collar (yet) which type is best for a lab, webbing and clip, or traditional leather style? And finally wheres the best value place for dog items, im needing a training treat bag, training whistle, halti thing, collar and probably other stuff i dont even know i need yet!

2. heidrun

heidrun Supporting Member Forum Supporter

Re: im new! advice re food, leads, collars etc!

Hi there and welcome to the forum :).

Do you mean Skinners dog food? If your dog looks good and does well on this food then I wouldn't change it. It is VAT free as far as I know and not in he top price range of dog foods.

I use collars with plastic clips for all of my dogs. They don't wear them in the house or on private land or when working, but I do pop them on when they are travelling in the car for example. I need something that I can put on and take off quickly hence the collars with plastic clips.

As for all the other gear I shop around and compare prices. There are a couple of companies I prefer simply because of the type of training dummies and leads they offer. I don't use a bag for the dummies but a training vest which is a lot easier and more comfortable to carry and it also doesn't tend to whack the dog over the head every time I bend down. :)

Tell as a bit more about your new friend. :)

3. blackjack