Kibbles and treats?!

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Sally C, Dec 30, 2014.

1. Sally C

Sally C Registered Users

Hello!

I'm new to the site... As yet I don't have a pup but am preparing for one and want to cross all the t's etc and know what I'm doing before I bring him home. As I'm new to raising pups I've decided to follow Pippa's advice and go for kibbles as food.

I have read that if you feed with kibbles you don't need to add anything else to the diet. But in the Puppy Handbook it frequently refers to giving chicken/cheese etc as special treats. Is it ok to give these sorts of treats while feeding with kibbles? I wouldn't want to make the pup sick from rich treats or a change in diet, but if they're only small treats does it matter? Plus I'd like to use the frozen kongs filled with goodies, but what filling is best to use?

Any advice much appreciated!

Thanks
    Sally

2. snowbunny

snowbunny Registered Users

Re: Kibbles and treats?!

Hi Sally,

You can feed only kibble if you wish, and many people do. Most good-quality kibble is manufactured to be a complete diet. But your dog will probably favour higher-value, tastier treats for training purposes, and things like chicken and cheese are perfect for this (in very small pieces, about the size of a pea). There's no issue with giving your dog these on top of kibble, as long as you make appropriate adjustments in quantity, so your dog doesn't get fat.

Frozen kongs are great, and it varies from dog to dog what their favourite fillings are. There's a whole thread on the subject here: http://www.thelabradorforum.com/index.php?topic=5200.0

My two like sardines and cheese, tuna and cheese, banana and peanut butter.

Hope that helps!

3. Naya

Naya Registered Users

Hi and welcome to the forum :D
    Harley is my first ever dog and she is now 16 months old. It is amazing watching them grow....I wish I got a dog years ago.