Moving to Raw Feeding

Discussion in 'Raw Feeding' started by Jim Stevenson, Nov 20, 2017.

1. Jim Stevenson

Jim Stevenson Registered Users

Forum Newbie here! We have a 12 month old Fox Red Lab called Jasper who is fed dried food. Recently went to the vet cos we we were worried his anal glands weren't emptying while doing a poo as they were emptying and causing that fishy smell in the house. However, the vet checked the glands and they are totally fine. When we told her that Jasper poos about 4 times per day and his poo is generally quite soft (not diarrhoea) she said that he possibly lacks enough fibre in his food. She advised we switch to a dried food with more fibre. Our current food is 3.5% fibre and we can't find another dried food with higher % fibre content.
    Our dog walker (and owner of her own 6 dogs) advised us to switch to raw food as she has been doing it for years and has said that Jasper will start to produce more solid stools and also poo less.
    We are still undecided about it as we have a few questions...
    1. What does everyone think about raw meat diets?
    2. Can I fee Jasper a mix of kibble and raw meat? If so, should I do that on different days or can his morning food be dry and evening food be raw meat (or vice versa)
    Have looked at the myriad of websites and the messages are mixed...

2. Karen

Karen Moderator Forum Supporter

Hi there and welcome!

Personally, I feed a mixture of raw and kibble, and have done so for years. I feed raw in the morning, and kibble for the evening meal. Raw food (with raw, meaty bones) will certainly help make his poos more solid, but introduce it very carefully, only one protein source at a time, to avoid stomach upsets.

3. Jim Stevenson

When you say "one protein source at a time", do you mean "one meat-type at a time"?

4. snowbunny

snowbunny Administrator Forum Supporter

Hello and welcome.