My 6 month lab has started pooing on kitchen floor every night

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by ChrisG, Dec 24, 2019.

1. ChrisG

ChrisG Registered Users

My 6 month old lab has started pooing every night, through the night on the kitchen floor. This gas been going on for 2 weeks now.
    There has been no change of food and his routine is the same. He is still as happy as ever and is eating as normal and drinking plenty of water.

Any advice gratefully received

2. Golden Ted

Golden Ted Registered Users

Hello,

I'm no expert but I would consider things like feeding last meal earlier, taking out on leash to make sure he/she has emptied in the evening or even a later walk at bedtime.
    Could you make the space smaller in the kitchen using gates/blocking off so the dog is less inclined to poo.

Hope things improve for you as it's not the kind of present you want to be waking up to, especially this time of year!

Emily.

3. pippa@labforumHQ

pippa@labforumHQ Administrator

Hi Chris, recurrent soiling at night is not an uncommon problem. There's usually a trigger, something that starts it (such as being disturbed during the night or being upset about something) The problem is, as you've found, that it quickly becomes a habit that can be hard to break.