Nero doesn't seem to like walks...help!

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Deano82, Jan 9, 2014.

1. Deano82

Deano82 Registered Users

Our Nero is 14 weeks old today. I have been taking him out for short 10 min walks twice a day for the last week. When we walk down the road away from the house he walks behind me and stops every few yards and just sits there refusing to move. When walking he keeps slowing down and looking back towards the house.
    When I finally get him to walk around the block...as soon as we start heading back towards the house he then walks very quick in front of me as if he cant wait to get home
    Any tips? It is getting very frustrating as I have to almost drag him around the block for the walk

2. Deano82

Deano82 Registered Users

Re: Nero doesn't seem to like walks...help!

Forgot to mention this is walking on a lead

3. Maggie68

Maggie68 Registered Users

Im not an expert, and you will Im sure get better advice, but how about taking a few treats along? As he moves forward give him a small treat ? If you can get to a park and can let him off, that shoud be good to. My pup Otis has learnt the word, treat, there may be better advice about recall, but when he comes to you a treat reward has really worked with Otis, along with saying, good dog. Dont be afraid to let him off the lead in a safe area, as a small pup, he will stay close by.

4. Oberon

Oberon Supporting Member Forum Supporter

I wouldn't try too hard as he doesn't really need walks at this age :) I'd be trying to take him out outings to experience new sights, sounds and people, but more along the lines of trips in the car to have a sit or little wander in a new place. But don't worry too much about the walks round the block. Work on building up his library of new experiences, making sure they are not scary to him. :) Exercise can happen as playtime in the house or garden or playtime in any other safe, enclosed place.

5. Indy

Indy Registered Users