Please Help......

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by amee, Nov 30, 2017.

1. amee

amee Registered Users

Hi there,

I'm completely new to all this - I've never had a dog before and I'm a little afraid of unknown dogs. We recently got a black lab/bernese mixed with a mini poodle puppy. We brought her home at 9 weeks and she absolutely amazing. We are at the 5 month old mark and she has lost her mind.

When we are out on walks she will walk along beside you, she likes to stop and sniff things an then bam she jumps up on my and bites my coat, my hand, my legs. I've tried getting her to sit, "be gentle, give kisses', turning my back ( she just comes at me from behind). SHe does eventually calm down but sometimes it takes 5-10 minutes.

When we have her at home - if she is behaving we let her wander around the house and play but one she gets over excited/jumping and biting we either crate her or tether her.

She is very smart - knows sit, lay down, down, give kisses, be gentle, leave it (when she feels like it), go to your spot, go outside, go to your bed, and the names of all her toys, she waits to be told to eat. Sometimes I think she does something bad, like jump up on me or bite just to sit down instantly to get a treat......

I'm kind of at the end of my tether with her with the biting, jumping and nipping...please you guidance is greatly needed.

2. Lt.Kippo

Lt.Kippo Registered Users

I was there myself. Your not alone in your feelings one bit.

[​IMG]

This was brand new. That behavior is also normal at this age. Continue to ignore as your doing. The behavior will eventually diminish. Some people have told me Labs don't chill out till about 1.5 years of age!