Problems when we are eating

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Hugo's mum, Jul 28, 2016.

1. Hugo's mum

Hugo's mum Registered Users

What do people do during meal times - we crate Hugo (7 months) as otherwise he jumps up at the table but this just causes barking and a very unrelaxing meal time. We give him treats in the crate but he finishes them we finish and then the barking starts again! Feel like we won't ever eat in peace or be able to have friends round for a meal again!

2. JenBainbridge

JenBainbridge Registered Users

Not that I'm an expert AT ALL (as you will see from my previous posts) but when we're eating Stanley stays in the kitchen behind his baby gate where he can still see us with some toys and a chew of some sort. Usually he takes himself off to bed for a nap, at first he used to cry but now he doesn't seem to mind.

Hopefully with perseverance he will settle down and let you eat in peace ☺️ Nothing worse than a stressful meal!

3. lorilou61

lorilou61 Registered Users

When very young, Edsel went to his crate. As he became more able to comply, we taught him to go to his bed for mealtime which is what he does now. Except when the 3 grandsons are here. He then stations himself under the table in anticipation of treats falling from the heavens. Since that's an infrequent occurrence I allow him this transgression!

4. Oberon

Oberon Supporting Member Forum Supporter

Having him in the crate is a good idea. I'd keep the crate next to where you are so he doesn't feel isolated.