Puppy help for a complete novice.... :-)

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Gemgsy, Jan 2, 2020.

1. Gemgsy

Gemgsy Registered Users

Hi everyone! My names Gemma

I’ve just joined this forum today and I have found it so great reading all your advice.
    We are getting a 8 week old male lab puppy at the end of January and I’m trying to do as much research as I possible can to prepare.
    My main concerns are:

Biting? I have a 5 year old daughter and a 10 year old daughter (worried about them both being bitten, I obviously know this is done in play but they might not and become upset)

I’m a nurse working shifts which is great as my main long shift at the weekend will be when my husband is home, but there will be a few hours probably only once a week where I need to go to work or sleep after a night shift. What do we do? Do I put him
    In a crate? Or a play pen or a crate inside a play pen? Also what do you do when they are a lot bigger but not quite able to be trusted to not injure them selves or your house when you’re out! :) he really won’t be left barely at all but the occasions I can’t take him with me I’d like advice. If I need to go food shopping for example? Obviously a baby is fine you can put them in a sling, maybe a puppy sling is an idea hahaha

Also could I have some positive puppy stories, I’m getting a bit worried If I’m doing the right thing now where as I wasn’t before (probably a bit naive :)) people like to tell you all the negatives I find!

Apologies for the long message... thank you if you made it to the end !

Gem :)

hello to you all!!

2. pippa@labforumHQ

pippa@labforumHQ Administrator