Raw Diet portions

Discussion in 'Raw Feeding' started by Vika, Feb 13, 2018.

1. Vika

Vika Registered Users

Hello! I've got both my dogs on the BARF diet but I've got some concerns about the portions I'm feeding them? My boy Padfoot is a lab/newfie mix and my girl Korra is a German Shepherd, if the breeds matter in this.

So my boy is done growing, he's a small guy at 60 lbs, and I'm currently feeding him a pound and a half, plus a bone every other day, in the hopes that it'll keep him at the weight he's at now. My girl is two and is also 60 lbs, but she's still filling out so I've been giving her 3 lbs, including the bone.

Am I feeding either of them too much? A few things I've read have said to feed 5% of the body weight if the dog is still growing, and 2% to 3% if I want to maintain their weight. I just want to make sure I'm not overfeeding Korra, or underfeeding Padfoot. I've been trying to stick to the 80/10/5/5 diet, but I'm very new to this and am still trying to figure out a good balanced diet for them

2. snowbunny

snowbunny Registered Users

Hi and welcome. Every dog is different and the guidelines are just that - guidelines. It depends very much on the dog's activity levels and individual metabolism. The best way to judge the perfect amount is by looking at their stools (frequency, consistency) and their body. If they are looking too ribby, you need to add more food. If you can't feel their ribs without applying any pressure, then you need to reduce the amount.

Here is a thread containing a guide on body shape, applicable to both your breeds:

https://thelabradorforum.com/threads/ideal-dog-weight-chart.22542/

Emily_BabbelHund likes this.
  3. Emily_BabbelHund

Emily_BabbelHund Longest on the Forum without an actual dog Forum Supporter

Hi and welcome! I second @snowbunny 's post and also want to add not to stress too much about getting each meal "balanced" or even feeding the exact same amounts at each meal.