Retrieving Training help please

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Dan, Jan 3, 2014.

1. Dan

Dan Registered Users

Hi all,

Since the last post I've moved forward significantly with Heal work (thanks Pippa). Top tip for others with the same problem though, I started training healing in the dark (less distractions like blowing leaves) and it really did help. I can now walk about 30 metres in the light and almost on grass!!!!

Bey is 6.5 months I'm struggling with retrieving (albeit early days) I throw a ball, dummy, sock about 5 metres and she casts out excellently, picks it up and then buggers off like a possessed beast. Then recall doesn't even work.

When I finally got back my dummy tonight I thought I'd switch to some recall training to make sure that was ok, after Bey coming at me full pelt she pushed me over backwards on the floor and then with all the excitement bit my nose.....at that point two options occurred. 1) throw her over the garden wall, 2) pack up and go back indoors - chose the latter rubbing my nose and pleased I've still got her really!!!

Any tips for dummy training (the retrieval type not owner)

Thanks

Dan

2. TeamGSP

TeamGSP Registered Users

Re: Retrieving Training help please

Why not try throwing the dummy in a contained area where she can't bugger off like a hallway inside your house or an enclosed garden path.

Do not blow your recall if its going to fail as you are teaching the dog that it doesn't have to come back. You may have to reintroduce the recall.

Throw some dummies in a confined area and walk away for the dog if its not coming back. It should then come back towards you, so loads of praise and when back let the dog keep the dummy while you praise.

Try not to use the recall whilst dummy training until the dog is returning to you reliably with the dummy.

3. JulieT

JulieT Registered Users