Swimming?

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Teresa, Jun 25, 2015.

1. Teresa

Teresa Registered Users

How old should my puppy be before we can work on swimming in a lake? My other labs just jumped in around 4 months old but we didn't really do anything special to prepare them. My husband wants to get our 9 week old pup in the water right away but I'm not sure if it's advisable. A vet told me to wait until 6 months but that seems too long. There is a lot of conflicting info on the web about when to start teaching lab pups to swim.

2. mmomom

mmomom Registered Users

I'm no expert and not sure if being a lake, shots would be a consideration? We have a pool at home and when we had our other lab Maggie, that we lost 13 years ago, we took her in gently with us very early on and she loved it. We now have an 11 week old girl and have done the same ... Vet said fine, let her go. She's a little more timid than our Maggie was, so we were doing it just a little at a time for a few minutes with my husband holding her. When he lets her go, she swims like crazy to get out! However, that being said, we've had company here with my daughter and her 2 chocolates and our Maui actually jumped in on her own to be with the other dogs! Again, didn't stay long, swam to get out ... but we're getting there.

This is Maui after a swim the other day!
    [​IMG]

3. snowbunny

snowbunny Registered Users

Hi Teresa and welcome to the forum. I have two ten-month-olds and they have only been swimming for the last month, but that is purely because where we live, we have a lot of snow in the winter and no access to swimmable water until that has all gone. These are my first puppies, so my experience isn't large; however I know plenty of people on here have introduced their pups to water at a young age.