Thoughts on Dog Pen

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Markieee, Jan 30, 2015.

1. Markieee

Markieee Registered Users

Whilst I'm out currently Bruno has his own room, but were moving the weekend and wont have this luxury, so rather than him being limited to the crate, would a Pen (Ellie Bo) withstand a Labrador for a couple of hours a day?

2. tartanmouse

tartanmouse Registered Users

Re: Thoughts on Dog Pen

We used a lindam baby pen when ours were little. One piece of advice I would give is go for a squared shape - with corners - otherwise it would drive me mad having wasted space at the sides of a hexagogal pen (hope that makes sense!). I have no experience of the brand you mention, but they look very robust and heavy weight in the pics I've seen. Our labrador is a cross cocker, so she was teeeeny as a puppy, so I can't say size wise how your boy might be for jumping out or finding comfort?

3. bbrown

bbrown Moderator Forum Supporter

I think pens are a really good idea for dogs who aren't safe to leave in a room (I'd have no skirting boards left!) or where homes are very open plan and the need to be restricted. I'm afraid I don't have any experience of the make you've mentioned but in principle pens can be great :)

4. Markieee

Markieee Registered Users

Great thanks for your replies, his currently kept in his room by a stair gate, and the Ellie Bo pen is taller than the stair gate so jumping over would be no problem. I think I will invest in a pen, Thanks guys

5. tartanmouse

tartanmouse Registered Users

We've had ours for years now, and it gets used over and over, at different times, so for us it was definitely a worthwhile investment. Good luck with the move. x

6. suze12

suze12 Registered Users