Traditional Spey Vs. Keyhole

Discussion in 'Labrador Health' started by Penny+Me, Apr 14, 2014.

1. Penny+Me

Penny+Me Registered Users

Penny has just been for her booster and we discussed our options regarding speying. I was always planning to have her speyed, but I didn't have a specific time in mind. However now that we've discovered that she is going to be one of those dogs who has a season every 3-4 months I want to get her done sooner rather than later as her hormones seem to be sending her haywire and having a season so often is going to mess with her training. The vet recommend we Spey her 9-10 weeks after the discharge stops, instead of the usual 12 weeks because she comes into season so often.

My practice offers both kinds of procedure - the traditional Spey where the ovaries and womb are removed, and also the keyhole procedure where only the ovaries are removed.

I have no experience with the keyhole procedure as all the rescue dogs I have worked with have had the traditional Spey done as it is cheaper. I know the recovery time is shorter with keyhole and they only have three small wounds instead of the large incision. But that's all I know about it.
    I worry, with the keyhole procedure, that because only the ovaries are removed this still leaves her with the risk of a pyometra, and with a traditional Spey this risk is eliminated altogether.

What are your experiences with both kinds of Spey? I know all the complications associated with a traditional Spey, having experienced them all during my time working in kennels, but I know relatively little about keyhole procedures.

Pros and cons?

2. kateincornwall

kateincornwall Registered Users

Re: Traditional Spey Vs. Keyhole