Trainining 3 year old to interact with puppy

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Overread-tobe-labowner, Aug 8, 2015.

1. Overread-tobe-labowner

Overread-tobe-labowner Registered Users

I started training my 3 year old daughter on how to interact with Rocky few months back . We have a toy doggy which moves and makes sound so it is perfect play time as well as training for her. So far I have taught her these , anything else I need to add?

- no pulling his tail
    -no poking his eyes, letting him kiss / lick or kiss him
    -no jumping on him /rolling with him on ground
    -play only standing up or stiing down
    -only pet when he has all four legs on ground. When jumps up stand like tree
    - no disturbing when he is eating/sleeping
    -no entering his crate/playpen
    -not to take toys from his mouth
    -no chasing him
    -say ouch loudly and stop playing , walk away when he bites on hand
    -play with him only when mom /dad is supervising

2. Jes72

Jes72 Registered Users

That sounds quite comprehensive to me. I've found stand like a tree worked well whith my nieces. Let sleeping dogs lie is also a good one.
    Homer is now three and loves children.

3. MaccieD

MaccieD Guest

To keep play sessions short so puppy doesn't get overtired. Overtired puppies are like overtired toddlers! Remember to take out for a wee after playing and make sure your little one leaves puppy alone while toiletting as you will want to praise etc when puppy wees or poops.

4. JulieT

JulieT Registered Users

I'd say no hugging - whenever I see cute pics on social media of kids hugging puppies, the dog looks like it is his worst nightmare....

5. Boogie

Boogie Supporting Member Forum Supporter

Excellent advice :)

Our two year old twins tend to pat their heads, I discourage this as they pat rather indiscriminately and I can see the dogs are uncomfortable with it.

6. Edp

Edp Registered Users