What are the KC Good Citizen courses like?

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by 20180815, Oct 2, 2016.

1. 20180815

20180815 Guest

My lab will be 15 weeks at the start of the Novice one. I've never done formal training like this before so just wondering if anyone has any first hand experience.

2. 20180815

20180815 Guest

Forgot to add, we're in the Puppy one but there's no formal test at the end of it, just an overall assessment of how you've done I think? I assume the Bronze - Gold are more "hardcore". Of course that being relative to what you consider hardcore :p

3. MF

MF Registered Users

We did the Bronze. Dead easy. Although our trainers worked us up into a frenzy, making us think it's so difficult! No treats allowed. Our judge was very kind (much kinder than the trainers) and it seems (in retrospect) that the Bronze was simply to make sure your dog was friendly to people and unreactive to dogs, and obeyed a down stay at a distance. We did it years ago when Snowie was just under one years old. It's a nice milestone to achieve. I am sure you can download the judging checklist and try it out at home.

4. Jes72

Jes72 Registered Users

We have passed the Bronze and are working towards Silver and Gold, our dog club is so relaxed it has taken us a year to get this far, mostly because there's no pressure and we spend half the time on the floor with our dogs having a laugh at all the funny things they do, not really the place for high achievers. I've heard of some classes that can be quite intimidating though.

The tests are generally about training dog doggy manners rather than competition obedience. Waits and stays, recall, walking to heal, going through doors safely and walking amongst people and other dogs. Silver and Gold include longer stays, walking safely along roads, getting into a car and going to bed. All good useful things that should help you and your dog be happy and safe in most day to day situations.

5. Joy

Joy Registered Users