When to introduce a dummy?

Discussion in 'Gundog Training, Fieldwork, & Field Trials' started by caroleb, Jul 3, 2011.

1. caroleb

caroleb Registered Users

I'm very excited - we've booked Rusty in for his grade 1 gun dog training which starts at the end of July. While I don't shoot I do want to give him something stimulating to do and he seems to show good potential. For example when ever anything moves Barney will automatically chase and bark. Rusty will sit at my side and watch carefully, not following the example of his big pack brother thank goodness!

Because I'm completely new to training a puppy I've deliberately not attempted to teach any kind of fetch/retrieve game knowing that it's harder to unteach bad habits. The course paperwork instructs me to bring along a 1lb dummy so my question is should I keep up the complete ignorance until we get to our first lesson or should I introduce Rusty to it before hand? If so - how?

2. pippa@labforumHQ

pippa@labforumHQ Administrator

Re: When to introduce a dummy?

Hi Carole

Sorry for the delay, I missed this post.

Steadiness is very important, but is usually taught after the pup is retrieving keenly. You do need to get Rusty retrieving with enthusiasm as a priority.

Is there anything at all that Rusty likes to retrieve at the moment?

Pipp

3. caroleb

caroleb Registered Users

Hi Pippa

only food ;D

In the garden if I throw or kick a ball or toy Barney will run and grab it and play with it. Rusty watches. There is a hard chew toy shaped like a bone that he will carry around which he has retrieved on occasion as Barney has no interest in it.

What the best way to start getting him to retrieve? I'm ahead of you on step 1 - lock barney away!

thanks Carole

4. pippa@labforumHQ

Hi Carol
    You are right about keeping Barney well away. ;)