3 Month Old Puppy Diarrhea

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Laurasavidge, Nov 12, 2018.

1. Laurasavidge

Laurasavidge Registered Users

hello everyone. I am new to this so please bare with! This our first dog, and first lab. A rather long post so thank you in advance for reading.
    We re-homed a puppy from my close friend, at the end of September. We had a lot of trouble with his food. When we received him he was on adult food (at 3 months old), he was vomiting after every feed and I contacted the lady who we got him from. She said to change back to the puppy food but the vet told her to put him on the adult food due to his size.. I found it hard to believe but there we go. He also came with rawhide chews which were ‘his favourite’. We changed his food from the adult Harrington’s back to the puppy ‘skinners field and trial’ and removed the rawhide treats as I’m aware these aren’t good for dogs guts. Anyway, I spoke to a woman in our local pet store about a chew for him as he was gnawing everything and everyone due to teething and she suggested an antler which has been brilliant. the last couple of weeks poor little pup has had diarhoea every time he passes his stool. I have cut out even his little training treats to see if it was that causing him upset but still no change. The only thing is he having is his food. Would we have to get him checked or just see if it passes? He has been flead and wormed with vet treatment also and all jabs up to date.

thank you for reading and any help is appreciated!

Laura

2. Wrigley's Dad

Wrigley's Dad Registered Users

Hi Laura,

We went through some times of an upset stomach with our lab and each time we have used the below food. Almost every time, after about 3-4 meals of just having this food, his stomach was back to normal. Good luck!

Hill's Prescription Diet i/d Digestive Care with Turkey Canned Dog Food

3. DizzyDaisy

DizzyDaisy Registered Users