5 month old Lab starting to ignore his training

Discussion in 'Labrador Training' started by DjSlimmyD, Jun 17, 2020.

1. DjSlimmyD

DjSlimmyD Registered Users

I have a 5 month old chocolate lab who has been very well behaved since we got him in early April. I studied training methods, and would like to think i did a good job considering his come, sit, stay, drop, etc. have been very good. It was tough to incorporate distractions the last few months though due to not many people being outside from COVID. So whenever there is someone walking in the neighborhood, I struggle to get him to not just run out to them. I don't necessarily want to use a tie down method or install a fence either.

Up until the last week or so, He has stopped listening to the "come" command and it takes multiple attempts until he listens. I know i can't just give up on the training that we have done, but what other methods are there to use as the puppy gets older? I have been using the clicker method and small training treats as rewards.

Any information is appreciated!

2. Edp

Edp Registered Users

At 5 months he is still very young and whist his training is in progress it is not yet secure or solid. That takes months, and you have to get through their teenage phase which can be challenging as well. It took my dog to be well over a year until I could relax a bit knowing things like recall were better. She is a clever dog and had lots of traing, but they need to grow up and explore the world abit. I would say, keep doing what you are doing but increase the treat value, make the treats irresistible. Warm chicken, ham, sardines...anything that encourages a response. You can wean them off them later.

Jess_Bushby and DjSlimmyD like this.
  3. Marie

Marie Registered Users