Alternative to Cone after Spay surgery

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Priya71, Jan 8, 2018.

1. Priya71

Priya71 Registered Users

Hello,

My puppy will be getting spayed this week and I am already dreading the cone that she will have to wear. This is my first puppy and I have no experience dealing with it. Can you all share your experiences with how your darlings dealt with the cone? Are there any softer or better alternatives to the hard plastic cone?

Many thanks!

2. snowbunny

snowbunny Registered Users

I used an inflatable buster collar for Willow. She only wore it at night and if I had to leave her (like when I walked my other dog). She also wore a string vest for a while, but that was annoying (to me more than her, I think!) so didn't last long. You can get surgical shirts, too, which the dog wears like a babygrow. I would do anything to avoid a regular cone where possible, especially if you've not done any desensitisation training to it. I would recommend whatever solution you choose, getting it as soon as possible so you can start associating it with good things, rather than just expecting her to put up with it after the upset of her surgery, too.

Stacia likes this.
  3. Shaz82

Shaz82 Registered Users

The vet did not give Maisy a cone as she had 'internal stitches' - sort of turned in - so she could not get to them. Maybe you won't have to have one.

4. kateincornwall

kateincornwall Registered Users

I got a Medi Vest for Nelly , she is so small that even the smallest inflatable collar slipped on her neck . She didn't seem to mind the vest at all , its made of breathable material and protected her wound from the mud she seems to attract ! She only wore it when out on walks and at night .

5. Priya71

Priya71 Registered Users

Thank you all for the suggestions! I found an inflatable Kong cone on Amazon that I am going to try:) I am nervous about the recovery after the spaying...keeping my fingers crossed.

6. Stacia