Bitch pregnant??

Discussion in 'Labrador Breeding & Genetics' started by tullimore1976, May 12, 2015.

1. tullimore1976

tullimore1976 Registered Users

Hi this is my first time to these forums and i hope someone can help my queries.
    I have a black lab bitch and 4 weeks ago i brought her to a stud dog which is a field trial champion. They tied twice in about 4 days. All was going well until about two weeks in, i noticed a yellow discharge appearing in her pee. It also dripped from her the odd time. I was told by my mum (who used to breed rough collies) that this is normal towards the end of her heat. I brought her to the vet anyway and he checked her out and said she was very red down below. He said it was either one of three things:- just the end of her season, trauma from the dog or worst case scenario it was higher up her urinary system. He prescribed an antibiotic for 5 days and at the end of those 5 days it seemed to have cleared up apart from the odd tiny amount of yellowy mucous in her pee now and again.
    Now it is week 4 and i am due to bring "Jet" for her scan next Tuesday to see if she is pregnant or not. After her antibiotics had finished, this yellowy mucous appeared again although not as much as before the antibiotic. It only seems to appear when she has peed and the odd wee bit on her blanket when she gets up in the morning.
    Yesterday she began to go off her normal kibble and today she completely refused it and was then sick, but soon after ate alternatives She is eating chicken, rice, tuna, and her dog treat biscuits and drinking well but will pick through her kibble to get at it if i mix it in. She is in great form and is still enjoying her walks and is alert and playful as always and her nose is cool and wet.
    I know i may be being paranoid and my mum seems to think that Jet is definately pregnant and there is nothing to worry about if Jet is acting mostly herself.