Climbing snowdon!

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by Aimee Lawrence, Apr 30, 2017.

1. Aimee Lawrence

Aimee Lawrence Registered Users

It's my birthday next week and we were looking to do a day out somewhere but want to take thor. One option is climbing snowdon for the day, I've never done it before but it would be about 6 hours walking up and down according to Google. Would this be too much for thor at 8 months even as a one off?

2. Dexter

Dexter Moderator Forum Supporter

Hi Aimee,

Based on what I've learned through having Dexter I would say wait until he's older for a hike of that length.We never got beyond Moel Fammau ( if that's how you spell it) so I don't know how challenging Snowdon is ,but for me, I wouldn't have walked Dexter for that long at 8 months.However,that's not to say you can't go....isn't there a Snowdonia train line? That might be fun if Thor is comfortable on trains and dogs are allowed of course ? You could still get to do a bit of walking in the place of your choice but use the train to take some of the distance from Thor's legs?
    Happy Birthday in advance x

3. Aimee Lawrence

Aimee Lawrence Registered Users

I did look into the train (under the cover of it being for thor, but really to save my legs ;)) but they don't allow dogs on the train. I did think it would be too much for him but wasn't sure if I was just being overly cautious.
    Looks like it's back to the drawing board :)

4. kateincornwall

kateincornwall Registered Users

I tend to agree with Angela , a six hour trek is a heck of a lot for a youngster, you aren't being over cautious , you`re being sensible x

5. JenBainbridge

JenBainbridge Registered Users

I'd definitely say no, but that's because the thought of doing that walk fills me with horror so I'd always use the dog as an excuse :D

6. Hollysdad

Hollysdad Supporting Member Forum Supporter