Dog fights

Discussion in 'Labrador Behavior' started by Stephy, Jan 4, 2020.

1. Stephy

Stephy Registered Users

Hello, Our pup is 11 months old and I believe we have paid our vets salary during that time due to her aggressive behavior toward our two small dogs. There have been 3 vicious fights and I fear of another that could possibly be the end for one. Two fights were over bones, she finishes quickly and wants to steal the others. The other fight was just a fight over space. How can we teach her to respect the other dogs?

2. Edp

Edp Registered Users

Hello, I am no expert at all. There are some on here who will hopefully chime in. I have had 3 dogs at one point but mostly had 2. I would never allow them to be in a situation where they could “steal” a cherished treat, or even feed them together. I think all animals deserve peace and calm to enjoy their food without looking over their shoulder to see who is going to take it. So those situations, I would keep them apart. Regarding space well I guess your pup is maybe much younger than the other dogs and more likely wanting to play or be bouncy around them, which may cause problems if they don’t want to join in. Most 11 month old labs are pretty full on and challenging so having 2 other dogs about will no doubt cause a few tensions. How tired do you get your lab, through exercise and training? Increasing both those elements could make your lab more settled at home, so less likely to pester your other dogs ?

3. Ski-Patroller

Ski-Patroller Cooper, Terminally Cute