Is it OK, or not?

Discussion in 'Labrador Chat' started by Jojo83, Jun 19, 2017.

1. Jojo83

Jojo83 Registered Users

We see many posts about dogs not responding to recall on walks or dogs jumping up people or other dogs. Excuses given for such behaviour is age - he's only a puppy or friendliness - he just wants to say hello/play.

As a trainer I'm in contact with many professionals and the following is copied from a fellow trainer's post/rant on FB

"Please, please, please remember that it is your job to keep your dog safe when out. Twice today during sessions working with clients and their reactive dogs I had off lead dogs approach us which were not under verbal control. Please remember that you are running a risk if you let your dog off lead in public areas without full verbal control in all reasonable circumstances. It's not ok to allow your dog to jump on on-lead dogs any more than it is to allow them to jump on people.

Incident number one, the other dog followed us closely as our dog was on lead, we were off the path and were moving away. The owner's excuse was "it's because you have treats in your pocket". No, it's because the owner has let strangers give her dog treats and has not properly trained her dog to come away when called.

Incident two, a young dog, maybe 6 months, raced up to us, we were working with 2 on lead dogs, well away from everyone else. The excuse here is "He's only a puppy, he's only young". If your dog is only young and doesn't have off lead manners around other dogs, then he needs to be on a long line until he has appropriate behaviour. In this incident, the client was handling the dogs and I ran interference by shoeing the dog away. I did so without touching the dog.

Public parks are shared spaces and as everyone has the right to be there as long as they are acting responsibly.

Your dog is your responsibility. Don't let him or her approach on lead dogs, especially if they are moving away from you."

2. bbrown