Is my Labrador too skinny?

Discussion in 'Labrador Health' started by Jlko, Nov 16, 2015.

1. Jlko

Jlko Registered Users

Hello! My chocolate Labrador just turned old year old 11 days ago and he appears to be very small/skinny for his age, I've seen people on this very forum being being concerned about their Labrador weighting only 55lbs at one year old while mine only weights 44lbs!

Here is what I have been feeding him since he was 2 months old; http://www.canisource.com/fish-ingredients-and-nutrient-analysis.php
    It's the best and healthiest food available in my province as far as I know, and also the one that was recommended by the breeders. I've been feeding him the recommended amount of food for a 60lbs dog since August and he's very slowly gaining weight. A box of food costs around 140$ and I simply can't afford doubling his portions, and I wouldn't want to lose the benefits of the food. (bright white teeth, very healthy fur, etc)

He doesn't seem sick at all, he's a huge ball of energy all the time and he seems happy! My mother thinks I might be overexercising him, resulting in him possibly burning more calories a day than he eats? My dog walks at the very least 2 and a half hours every day, often more, and that's without counting playtime at home. What do you guys think?

*I can't attach any pictures here so I've made an imgur album instead; http://imgur.com/a/1LPWk

2. kateincornwall

kateincornwall Registered Users

HI and welcome to the forum . I`m sorry but I cant access your album . Labs vary greatly , there is no set rule re weight , the general rule of thumb being that you should be able to feel the ribs but not see them . Also, if you stand over your dog, you should be able to see a definable waistline but no bones sticking out ! If he is happy and energetic as you say he is , then I really wouldn't worry , much better to be slim than fat :)

3. snowbunny

snowbunny Registered Users