Just wanted to say hello!

Discussion in 'Introductions & Saying Hello' started by Kec2314, Apr 6, 2020.

1. Kec2314

Kec2314 Registered Users

Hi All!

I am very excited to have found this forum. I have a 10 week old black lab named Eli and we have been together for 2 weeks. I live in a house that is made up of 6 condos so noise is something that I want to be mindful of. I have to be honest that I am been really overwhelmed these past 2 weeks with the demand of raising a puppy. I grew up with dogs but this is the first time I am raising one all on my own. Trying to learn to balance Eli's needs with my new work expectations (I am a teacher) has proven to be difficult and exhausting. I have read that things will get better with the dog part so I am trying to hold onto that but the days feel long and exhausting. I want to take good care of Eli and love him but I am having periods of time where I am feeling so overwhelmed with the constant demand of taking care of his needs that I wonder if I made the right choice in getting a dog. I'm working hard to find a routine but we are struggling to find one that is not disturbing the neighbors. I am a very early riser and get up around 4/4:30 and Eli usually is up around the same time. I am having a hard time motivating him to play outside with me to help him release some of his high energy. I am looking into getting a glow-in-the-dark toy. He just recently started being a bit more interested in walking outside for little bits of time but in the morning he often just wants his breakfast, but once given breakfast, he has a ton of energy. What do you suggest for this? I have to have him settled in his crate by 5:30 at the latest because I have to begin my work day. Unfortunately I can't be flexible with this time as I have a very early meeting at 5:30am.

Some other questions I have:

1. What toys, teething treats and training treats do you recommend?