Owls

Discussion in 'Pets Corner' started by caroleb, Apr 23, 2014.

1. caroleb

caroleb Registered Users

We are currently researching keeping an owl. My partner has a new business as a Freelance Forest School teacher which he named "Forest Owl" the "Owl" bit relating to "outdoor and woodland learning" and because it seemed like a good name! Loads of people have been asking if can bring an owl on the school visits and it looks like we're going to go for a Barn Owl! We have a barn already... ;D the plan is to get a baby one and imprint it on us, maybe even set up a barn cam...

he is doing a training course in a couple of weeks on how to look after an owl so we're doing it all properly but if anyone has any experience or advice we'd love to hear it

Carole

2. Naya

Naya Registered Users

Re: Owls

I've got no experience, but wow, sounds like a fab idea :)

3. bbrown

bbrown Moderator Forum Supporter

Very cool !

The hotel down the road has an aviary and my Dad went and took some photos of the owls recently - beautiful birds!

4. drjs@5

drjs@5 Registered Users

That's great Carole!
    I know nothing about owls, but we have an outdoor nursery on our doorstep. The kids have great fun in the woods, loads of free play and learning about nature. They love it.
    It's this one here if you are interested.
    Very best of luck!

5. MadMudMob

MadMudMob Registered Users

One of our members on the parrot forum keeps owls ..... fascinating birds!

6. Oberon

Oberon Supporting Member Forum Supporter

Wow!

The only thing I know about owls is that the reason their eyes face the front, unlike other birds, is because that is the only position in the skull that will fit two such enormous eyeballs. The eyes are large to capture as much light as possible so they can see in low light (as we all know). But the front facing thing is not about binocular vision or depth perception - just basic packaging :)