Pup/Adult coat/Genetics?

Discussion in 'Labrador Breeding & Genetics' started by Tinypies, Dec 12, 2015.

1. Tinypies

Tinypies Registered Users

Bruin who is 6.5mnths old and is a yellow working bred labrador has a wonderful silky, soft & shiny coat, just wondering if he still has a puppy coat or whether its down to feeding (he is completely raw fed with plenty of fish) or whether genetics play a part or if there is a difference in coat texture in different colours of labs?

2. MaccieD

MaccieD Guest

I'm no expert on coats but it's very possible that Bruin still has a puppy coat if he hasn't had a proper moult yet. It does seem that all our dogs costs are different though - some thicker, some coarser, some more wavy, some shed more or less all the time . The main thing is that he is healthy with a shiny coat

3. JulieT

JulieT Registered Users

They are very different. My boy has a very shiny coat - it shouldn't really be shiny though (strictly speaking). A proper undercoat often makes a coat have a matt look. And the waterproof layer along their backs should have a coarse feel to it.

Charlie feels like soft silk to touch, and cuddling up to him in bed is amazing. I say enjoy whatever coat your dog has, fur is a wonder thing.

Apart from when you are sweeping it up....

4. snowbunny

snowbunny Registered Users

My two dogs, from the same litter, and obviously fed the same, have very different coats and not just in colour. Willow, who is a black girl, has a shiny coat, which is smooth but quite wiry. She doesn't have the wavy bit on her back. Shadow, who is yellow, is more matt. but very soft. He has a bit of a wave on his back, and that's much coarser than the rest of him. Shadow moults like the devil and Willow barely sheds in comparison. I've heard that neutering your dog can lead to a poor coat, but it doesn't seem to have affected Willow's at all.

5. Oberon

Oberon Supporting Member Forum Supporter