Rawhide chews

Discussion in 'Labrador Puppies' started by karen reid, Apr 21, 2014.

1. karen reid

karen reid Registered Users

Hi, I've been reading some posts that have been saying folk give their puppy's raw hide chews. I have heard these aren't good for puppies. In fact I had taken one into the vets with Murphy when he went to get his second injection recently, and the vet took it off me and said not to give to him. I've thrown them out now, but Murphy enjoyed the couple he had before the vet said no to them!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on the chews.

Karen xxxx

2. lynnelogan

lynnelogan Registered Users

Re: Rawhide chews

i have no experience, jasper is my first dog,...murphy is only young to be giving him chews,
    listen to your vet, she will have the best advice :)
    jasper is 16 month, i do give him bones, pigs ears ect,....when he was a baby we only gave him his food and toys :)

3. Oberon

Oberon Supporting Member Forum Supporter

Well, apparently the issue with rawhide chews is that they might bite off too large a bit and get it stuck in their throats or somewhere down the intestinal tract (rawhide is apparently not that easily digested).... The idea is that you are supposed to supervise them when they are eating this kind of thing. To be honest, though, almost anything they put in their mouths could be a choking risk....

Obi often gets rawhide chews (the kind that are knotted in the shape of a bone) although he takes his time working through them (weeks). However he is two years old. He is not supervised with them but he doesn't chew off large bits, only tiny bits.

I personally would give a rawhide chew to a puppy but I'd keep an eye on them. The ones that are whole pressed bones (not the knotted or flat ones) are better as it's harder to break off chunks. Plenty of people would not do that though - it's one of those things that people are 'for' or 'against' :)

4. Dexter

Dexter Moderator Forum Supporter