Scariest moment ever.

Discussion in 'Labrador Chat' started by Johnny Walker, Jul 27, 2017.

1. Johnny Walker

Johnny Walker Registered Users

I just want to share a moment in hopes some will learn. I am a professional mariner/yachtsman and I hunt my dogs. I never ever ever keep a lead on my dogs and I've even advised people on here the dangers of doing so in a marine environment. Tonight I took Duggan out for a boat ride in a small skiff to further socialize him to the boat and water. We stopped for a training session and all was well. He actually heeled and asked for more fetches so I was beside myself with pride. We motored back to town and clipped him on a lead when we stopped at the marina for some snacks. We didn't unclip the lead that was tethered to the anchor line. 30 meters of line. Duggan was sleeping after a good training session and I was so proud that the boat didn't unnerve him. Out of the blue he stuck his nose up and at jumped out of a boat doing 23 nautical miles an hour. Scared but okay cause I know how tough he is......until I saw the anchor line pay out of the bow. I hammered reverse and cut the bow towards him ( it turns the motors away) if the prop picked up the line he'd be dead. Second worse scenario is that I saw the anchor line go taught. His weight in the water acutely pulled the bow 30 degrees over after I turned hard and slammed on the brakes. Scariest moment ever. I could have skipped a disk. Dragged him under and drowned him or chopped his face in the prop.... I am a quick thinking experience professional boater so all was well. He is fine. He shook the whole way home and is now sleeping. Hope there is no sign of injury tomorrow. I equate the jolt to him neck similar as running 40 meters and coming to the end of the lead where the cat is sitting. I'm telling this story as a warning to you all. IT CAN HAPPEN. I had know idea he would jump. He was sleeping calmly in front of the boat and then BAM. The anchor line took out my wife and c