Whistles

Discussion in 'Labrador Training' started by KernowKate, Feb 4, 2013.

1. KernowKate

KernowKate Registered Users

Well my total Recall book arrived today! and iv'e just ordered a whistle, I ordered the Acme Gundog 210.5 pitch.

Iv'e never used a Dog whistle before, and just got home from our after tea walk on our Moors, where the wind was screaming like it often does up here, and I just wondered if there was much difference in the whistle pitches? and if one would be better than the other for a Dog to hear in a wild windy place where Mauser and I live?

Looking forward to reading the book, and training the little beasty!

2. charlie

charlie Registered Users

Re: Whistles

Hi, I have been using an Acme 211.5 with Charlie and have been training him with Pippa's Total Recall since October. Don't really know about pitches as this is my first time using a whistle. Someone on here will definitely be able to tell us both about the pitches. Good luck. Helen :D

3. drjs@5

drjs@5 Registered Users

I have both - the 210 one is higher pitched than the 211 one. I personally like the higher pitch one, but we went wrong with it before doing Total Recall so changed whistles. Doesn't really make much difference I think - ;D its how you use it that matter.

jac

4. charlie

charlie Registered Users

Jac, how long have you been doing Total Recall ? I feel I have been doing it forever :eek: H x

5. drjs@5

drjs@5 Registered Users

Umm....I got the book as soon as it came out, but must say I gave up a bit at the stage where you need help in the garden :-[
    I found I just didn't have time to carry on - lack of daylight a big probem as I work 4 days.