Why won't she come back to me?

Discussion in 'Labrador Behavior' started by Erica Kirk, Apr 9, 2017.

1. Erica Kirk

Erica Kirk Registered Users

Hi guys, I am new to this and I am trying to train my first dog. She is a lab mix, but mostly lab. She listens well at home, however she isn't quite understanding the concept of "come". I have tried a few different things but for some reason she just isn't getting it. What have you guys done to solve that problem?

2. kateincornwall

kateincornwall Registered Users

Hi and welcome . Can I suggest you purchase Pippas book , as advertised on this forum and available from Amazon ? Total Recall is invaluable , and will help a lot I`m sure . How old is your dog ? Its all about repetition , patience and then some ! Having a good recall in the home and garden is good, but this needs to be proofed , if your dog is food orientated then this can help a lot . You need to use treats of a high value , I used sausages cut into small pieces , let Sam see that I had them in my pocket before we set off .

3. drjs@5

drjs@5 Registered Users

Hi Erica, welcome to the forum.
    The problem with dogs is that they don't generalise. What they learn in the house or garden doesn't always work in a rabbity field, or on a beach with picnicking for instance.
    You need to gradually build up different places and situations you are recalling in.
    Start with easy stuff, "set your dog up for success". Then work from there.
    Have you got Pippa's book "Total Recall". I can't recommend it highly enough.
    I think it will really help you.
    Jac

4. drjs@5

drjs@5 Registered Users

Sorry cross posted with Kate!

kateincornwall likes this.
  5. Emily_BabbelHund

Emily_BabbelHund Longest on the Forum without an actual dog

Hi and welcome!